poplascuba.blogg.se

Pointcarre conjecture
Pointcarre conjecture











pointcarre conjecture

= I agree! Not to be cheeky, now it's proved - so what? - 24.249.108.133 08:30, 23 August 2006 (UTC) Not to be cheeky? Please! Such insincerity gets you no love.

pointcarre conjecture

I bet that there's something YOU understand that not everyone else here does. I got a better idea: stop acting like somebody owes you something. I don't doubt its importance, but please someone who knows, explain what practical ramifications this conjecture will have so that laypeople like myself can be in on the big deal too. It sounds so arcane, like an intellectual puzzle that has no application to real life. I cannot make head or tails of this article or why it is such a big deal. However, the last math-related class I took was calculus, 10 years ago. I really want to be interested, because I have a somewhat mathematical bent and because people are making such a big deal about this. I am not asking that the article be 'dumbed down', but rather that a new section be added that summarizes the article such that a non-mathematician can comprehend what the general concept is. I guess this could be taken as a compliment to the author, but for 99% of the world population - including young people who may just be developing an interest in mathematics - the article is far too scholarly. I am reasonably well educated, but the content of the article is WAAAAY over my head. I would be very grateful if someone could write a "simplified overview" of this article for readers who are not mathematical experts. How is that relevant? - Preceding unsigned comment added by 82.244.149.143 ( talk) 08:34, (UTC) Please explain to the layperson why this is such a big deal I can't see myself putting a bad pronounciation on an English name in a French article. Seriously? There is only one way to pronounce that name. Poincaré conjecture (/pwɛn.kɑːˈreɪ/ pwen-kar-AY

  • 45 Poincaré's theorem, no more conjecture or hypothesis.
  • 43 The discussion of Cao-Zhu and the other expositions.
  • 27 A link to a new article on "Smooth Poincaré Conjecture" would be useful.
  • 22 from the article: lacks any boundary (a closed 3-manifold).
  • pointcarre conjecture

  • 21 Moved other dimensions to GPC article.
  • 17 The Sydney Morning Herald referenced us!.
  • 2 Please explain to the layperson why this is such a big deal.












  • Pointcarre conjecture